12th SUR GLOBAL Meeting
March 27th and 28th
Getulio Vargas Foundation
Río de Janeiro

Over 20 universities serving on the Academic Committee of BIENALSUR held a meeting at the Getulio Vargas Foundation, in Brazil.

Presided over by the Universidad Nacional de Tres de Febrero (UNTREF), representatives of over 20 universities participated in the first in-person meeting of the Academic Committee of the International Contemporary Art Biennial of South America – BIENALSUR. At the Getulio Vargas Foundation (FGV) venue in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Aníbal Jozami, General Director of BIENALSUR and mentor of the Committee, accompanied by Academic Director Diana Wechsler and FGV President Carlos Ivan Simonsen Leal opened a two-day meeting of reflections and debates on the activities of the Biennial.

The meeting was divided into two parts: the first one was a closed session for the members of the Academic Committee and the second was open to the public. Academic institutions from Argentina, Brazil, Colombia and Peru, among other countries of the region, Asia and Europe had already held two videoconferences. The purpose of the second one, which took place on Tuesday February 14th, was to work on the systematization and pre selection of the projects submitted to the open call of 2016.

Since its establishment in 2016, the university network has created a number of systems for this production stage of the Biennial, which will reach its pinnacle from September to November 2017, with simultaneous exhibitions in over 40 cities from different countries.


Silvia Fingerut

Brazil / Getulio Vargas Foundation

Claudia Salamanca

Colombia / Universidad Javeriana

Ana Gabriela Rivadeneira

Ecuador / Universidad de las Artes

Fábio Magalhães

Brazil / Director of the MACS Sorocaba

Fernando Gaspar

Chile / Universidad Nacional

Cecilia Irazusta

Argentina / Universidad Nacional de Córdoba

Claudia Epstein

Argentina / Universidad Nacional de Tucumán

Carlos Musso

Uruguay / Universidad de la República

May Puchet

Uruguay / Universidad de la República

Patricia Velazco

Venezuela / Universidad Metropolitana de Caracas

Claudia Mara Escovar Alfaro Boettcher

Brazil / Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul

Marconi Méndez

Guatemala / Universidad de San Carlos

Enrique Aguerre

Director of of the National Museum of Visual Arts of Montevideo

Raúl Antelo

Argentina-Brazil / Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina

Ticio Escobar

Paraguay, Asunción / Director of the Museo del Barro

Samuel Mac Dowell de Figueiredo

Brazil / Cultural agent and founder of the Instituto Baía dos Vermelhos in Ilhabela

Christian Boltanski

France / artist

Angelika Markul

Poland / artist

Enrique Martinez Larrechea

Uruguay / Fundación Instituto Universitario Sudamericano-IUSUR, Montevideo

Tadeu Chiarelli

Brazil / Universidade de São Paulo

Estrella de Diego

Spain / Universidad Complutense, Madrid

Paulo Herkenhoff

Brazil / curator

Carlos Ivan Simonsen Leal

Brazil / President of the Getulio Vargas Foundation

Carlos Peralta

Argentina / UNTREF

Aníbal Jozami

Argentina / General Director of BIENALSUR

Diana Wechsler

Argentina / Artistic and Academic Director of BIENALSUR